Flagging the Circle

Excerpt from press release by Queer|Art

Flagging the Circle: Collaborative Artworks by 60+ Queer|Art Artists
June 11 – 20, 2024
Sargent’s Daughters gallery, New York, USA

Queer|Art is pleased to present Flagging the Circle, an exciting group exhibition of collaboratively made artworks by 60+ queer artists from the Queer|Art|Mentorship community. Presented as part of the 2024 edition of Queer|Art|Pride, the show is on view from June 11th–20th at Sargent’s Daughters gallery in Lower Manhattan. The centerpiece of the exhibition is an online silent auction raising funds to support the Queer|Art|Mentorship program.

Flagging the Circle presents 30+ collaboratively made artworks, contributed by 60+ artists from the Queer|Art|Mentorship community. The works on view restage the classic Surrealist parlor game known as the Exquisite Corpse—where one player draws on a sheet of paper, conceals their contribution, then passes it to the next player for a further contribution. Queer|Art invited pairs of Mentors & Fellows past to team up to create their own version of the Exquisite Corpse, reviving intergenerational connections across the country. The resulting works challenge preconceived notions of what queer embodiment looks like, and gleefully move between modes of creative expression.

Participating artists include: jose esteban abad, Seyi Adebanjo, Kearra Amaya Gopee, Frances Arpaia, Katherine Bahena-Benitez, Maria Bauman, Kate Bornstein, Demetri Burke, Anna Campbell, Candystore, Geoff Chadsey, Xandra Clark, Liz Collins, Kyle Coniglio, David Antonio Cruz, CQ, Marco DaSilva, Will Davis, Avram Finkelstein, C. Finley, Lola Flash, T. Fleischmann, Camilo Godoy, Goodw.y.n, Gayatri Gopinath, Lucas Habte, Miranda Haymon, Rick Herron, Fatima Jamal, Natalia Leite, Zefyr Lisowski, Mev Luna, Heather Lynn Johnson, Angelo Madsen Minax, Ricky Maldonado, María José Maldonado, Sarah Mihara Creagen, Rodrigo Moreira, Carlos Motta, Carrie Moyer, Mashuq Mushtaq Deen, Samantha Nye, Catching On Thieves, Eva Peskin, Xoài Phạm, Will Rawls, Eva Reign, Charles Rice-Gonzalez, Miller Robinson, Anthony Rosado, Ira Sachs, Nelson Santos, Zander Schlacter, Kelindah bee Schuster, Nora Sharp, Pamela Sneed, Stacy Szymaszek, Frédéric Tcheng, Antonius Tin-Bui, Julie Tolentino, Rose Troche, Jeanne Vaccaro, Lilly Wachowski, Justine Williams, Brendan Williams-Childs, Stephen Winter, Eva Yaa Asantewaa, Lu Yim, Constantina Zavitzanos, Sarah Zapata, agustine zegers.